Wednesday, November 19, 2008

The Laziest Design Team Ever...


So the folks at porsche unveiled their newest version of the Boxster at the LA Auto show...

What an aesthetically underwhelming car, i know that when you have a classic design shape you dont stray from it, but sweet Jesus, the guys in Stuttgart haven't changed a thing in sixty years. granted, they did so some work on the car that you can really see till you pop the trunk, (dont get too suprized the engine is still in the wrong place) a 3.2l direct injected six cylinder in the top of the line S model is good for 310hp, a significant improvement from the old boxsters, maybe, finally the porche boxster wont the be the most overpriced and feature poor version of the fun two seater sports cars, but is it me, or do all porsches look like VW beatles, especially the boxster? the engineering department also upgraded the gearbox in the boxster, i would guess mainly to harness the 310 hp made by the new six, but this gearbox also provides better fuel economy. why couldnt porche build a car with as much aestetic innovation as mechanical innovation? i mean have you seen the Panamera, what kind of sweet, sweet, german beer were the boys in germany drinking when they came up with that monstrocity? i mean i thought i would never see a car that made a Chrysler Crossfire look pretty...

No comments: